BABERGH DISTRICT COUNCIL

BABERGH COUNCIL

MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF THE BABERGH COUNCIL HELD IN KING EDMUND CHAMBER, ENDEAVOUR HOUSE, 8 RUSSELL ROAD, IPSWICH ON MONDAY, 4 DECEMBER 2017

PRESENT:

Peter Burgoyne - Chairman

Clive Arthey Melanie Barrett Tony Bavington Sue Burgoyne Tina Campbell Luke Cresswell Barry Gasper Michael Holt Jennie Jenkins James Long Alastair McCraw Adrian Osborne Lee Parker Stephen Plumb David Rose Harriet Steer John Ward

Sue Ayres Simon Barrett Peter Beer David Busby Sue Carpendale Alan Ferguson John Hinton Bryn Hurren **Richard Kemp** Margaret Maybury John Nunn Jan Osborne Peter Patrick Nick Ridlev Ray Smith Fenella Swan Stephen Williams

The following Members were unable to be present: Tom Burrows, Siân Dawson, Kathryn Grandon, Frank Lawrenson, Mark Newman, Michael Creffield, Derek Davis and William Shropshire.

56 DECLARATION OF INTERESTS BY COUNCILLORS

56.1 None declared

57 <u>FUTURE OPTIONS FOR 'WORKING TOGETHER' BETWEEN BABERGH AND</u> <u>MID SUFFOLK DISTRICT COUNCILS</u>

- 57.1 Councillor Alastair McCraw raised a Point of Order as to the mechanism used for calling the Extraordinary meeting of the Council. The Monitoring Officer explained that she requested that the Chief Executive call the Extraordinary meeting as outlined in Part 3 of the Constitution point 6.(c).
- 57.2 The Chief Executive and the Monitoring Officer presented the report to the Council noting that the advice had been circulated before the meeting and clarified that no vote could be taken on the legal advice that had been received.
- 57.3 The Chief Executive and Monitoring Officer responded to Members' questions clarifying that the legal advice had been received after the Extraordinary meeting of the Council had been called.

57.4 Members of the Council debated the legal advice provided including the possibility of a referendum for merging Babergh and Mid Suffolk, the form of buy in required as listed in the legal advice and the role of the Executive in making the decision.

The business of the meeting was concluded at 6.05 pm.

.....

Chairman